What’s in a Name

Like many bloggers, I think my blog title is obvious.  But of course it’s not.  If you’ve read back far enough, though, you may have figured it out.  The stars part is more apparent.  I miss stars, and intend to gaze at more of them after I move to my small town.  The slate part is a reference to writing slates that were used in one room school houses across the country.  This blog is at least peripherally about my long-term plan to restore the one room school house that my Mom attended on her parents’ farm.

(Somewhere in my family history is a story about someone who dropped their slate in a puddle on the way to school, and how that was the “dog ate my homework” of the pre-notebook age.  It is either a story that will likely be outlined in my Uncle’s book, which comes out at the end of the year, OR it’s a general small town legend that I’ve mistakenly adopted as my own.  I’m not sure which one, but it’s definitely one of those.)

Leave a Reply

